top of page
  • Writer's pictureFloor'd - Holly

Trunks - Interview


Trunks has been steadily on the rise for some time now, working his way through the electronic scene in LA and impressing crowds with his high-energy DJ sets as well as quality original releases. Trunks fell in love with EDM after working as an intern at the legendary Dim Mak Records and since then has worked incredibly hard fusing together Trap and EDM to create innovative and fresh dance hits. Check out what he had to say in his interview below.


Sum yourself up as an artist in 3 words.

Creative, Visionary and Real



Preferred genre?

Trap music for sure, I grew up in Atlanta and that is where it originated.


Best song of all time?

That is a really hard question, but I will have to go with Thriller by Michael Jackson.


Who is your biggest inspiration?

My son Anthony drives me to keep going.


What do you want to achieve in 2019?

I really want to hit the road and do a few more shows, I have always wanted to travel and nothing is better than traveling to do what you love.


Which one of your own releases are your favourite and why?

Right now my favourite release has to be my single Nimbus that dropped on Simplify Recordings a few weeks ago. I am very excited about a few upcoming releases though.


Describe your music in a sentence.

The songs you heard at the festival main stage that made you throw your head around.


Favourite club?

XS in Vegas is my favourite spot to hit, I am a big fan of pool parties.


First rave you went to?

I went to an underground rave party in LA at a warehouse. It was a crazy night, at the end of the night Big Sean showed up and performed. Basically it was like the movie Project X.


Best festival you have been to?

Made In America was a really fun festival with a large variety of music. Everyone that I know seems to like different types of music and the festival literally catered to everyone.


Dream gig?

EDC without any question! I’d rock that stage so hard.


DJ’ing or producing?

DJ’ing but only because I love interacting with people. Also, seeing how people react to my music live, will always helps me when I produce.


Facebook or Instagram?

IG all-day and everyday, my Facebook feed is just a bunch of people complaining about something at this point.


Biggest achievement to date?

Getting my first three songs signed was a huge achievement this last year. After the amount of “No” or “Not For Me” emails that I received it made it even better when I actually signed.


Who would you love to work with?

That is a long list but off the top of my head, Rezz, RL Grime, Skrillex, What so Not, Carnage and Steve Aoki


Favourite record label?

Wow, I’ll say Dim Mak, not only because I used to work for them but they have a ton of talented artists and great releases.


Best thing about the music industry?

The grind is probably the best part, it is a hard industry to find success in. Once you do though, a bunch of great things open up for you.


Worst thing about the music industry?

A lot of people try to take advantage of you so, it is hard to trust people in this industry but sometimes you meet really cool people.


Where do you see dance music in 5 years time?

I see way more dance music festivals popping up and mainstream radio playing it more than the top 40 stuff.


Best piece of advice you were given in the early stages of your career?

Do it for the fun and watch the money come.


Trunks Online

bottom of page