top of page
  • Writer's pictureFloor'd - Holly

SAYA - Interview

Updated: Mar 11, 2019

SAYA is a London based DJ and producer who fuses Deep, Uplifting, Tech and Future House together as she impresses audiences across the city with her signature sound. The combination of her production talents and DJ sets are now seeing SAYA obtain more and more international bookings and playing in countries such as Finland, Greece and France. SAYA also is the co-founder of ‘I Am The Music’ collective and is involved with ‘Good Vibes Only’, not only developing her own artistry but also putting time and effort into other people’s careers, whilst hosting the increasingly popular radio show ‘Full House Sessions’. We caught up with SAYA to find out some more about her.


Sum yourself up as an artist in 3 words.

Ambassador Of LOVE


Preferred genre?

House (tech house, uplifting house, funky house, vocal & commercial house)


Best song of all time?

Feel my needs – WEISS



Who is your biggest inspiration?

I find inspiration everywhere in the music scene, from other artists, DJs, producers and people in general, however I have to say I do love to follow Sam Divine, Annie Mac and Hannah Wants a lot. They definitely inspire me as a female DJ/producer myself.

What do you want to achieve in 2019?

I would love to play as many summer festivals as possible and get into line-ups with big names (as above). Mainly I really want to continue to execute my passion, which is DJ’ing and producing music & making people happy! That truly gives me the kicks and makes life worth living! One of my very serious goals is to get better as a producer and release a few more tracks in 2019.

Which one of your own releases are your favourite and why?

My favourite at the moment is my track ‘I Wanna Kiss You’. It’s a Tech House tune of mine and represents my romantic (Ambassador of love) side that I have kind of developed into a ‘signature’ of mine now :)

Describe your music in a sentence.

I would have to say uplifting, happy vibes, musical magic that spreads happiness around.

Favourite club?

EGG in London, I am a bit of a raver myself! So I do love the vibe there. I also of course like Ministry of Sound.

First rave you went to?

It was in Finland, in my hometown of Turku. Absolutely mental, was HOOKED from that moment on.


Best festival you have been to?

I go to SO many festivals, however I have to say I absolutely LOVE SW4 in London. I go religiously each summer. Lots of DJs & producers performing there that I love and listen to.

Dream gig?

SW4, definitely. Tomorrowland as well! That would be the mecca for me as a DJ.

DJ’ing or producing?

Both for me.


Facebook or Instagram?

Again, both – however Instagram can be better in terms of engagement nowadays.

Biggest achievement to date?

Releasing my own tracks via Ryde Music, the record label who signed me and believes in me. DJing at Ministry of Sound and EGG. DJing at Wilkestock Festival and Ayia Napa House Party Electric Festival 2 years in a row. (sorry, a few came out haha!)

Who would you love to work with?

I would love to work with Sam Divine and Annie Mac on various projects and collaborations. I also absolutely love Purple Disco Machine and Friend Within right now, so a little collaboration there would be a dream come true for me! Or even playing in a same line-up or festival! I would be in heaven!!

Favourite record label?

Defected Records and Toolroom (can I have 2 favourites please)

Best thing about the music industry?

Dynamic, always buzzing atmosphere. People. Diversity and creativity.

Worst thing about the music industry?

I don’t have anything bad to say right now. Hopefully never will.

Where do you see dance music in 5 years time?

I hope I see it still creating happy moments in people’s lives, creating togetherness and unity. Hopefully these generic elements of dance music will never change or fade away.

Best piece of advice you were given in the early stages of your career?

GO FOR IT. Do what you love. Don’t get bogged down by people who don’t want your best or do not support your vision. You truly CAN accomplish anything you put your mind into. Work hard for your dreams. Don’t be scared of being bold and creative and breaking barriers.


Connect with Saya

bottom of page