top of page
  • Writer's pictureFloor'd - Holly

Alisha - Interview

Updated: May 14, 2018

Floor’d caught up with up Habitat resident Alisha. Alisha has been taking the scene by storm with her sets consisting of groovy basslines and looped vocals, supporting the likes of SKREAM, Steve Lawler, Richy Ahmed and an impromptu B2B with the legend that is Green Velvet.

Not only do her sets never disappoint, Alisha’s production skills have seen her release an EP on Defined Music and standing a solid 11 out of 100 in the Beatport charts. Alisha is definitely one to keep an eye on!




What made you get in to DJ’ing and producing?

- Ever since I was 17/18 really and started going to clubs & festivals. I always grew up with music and the dance scene, so seeing the DJs control the dance floor was something I was really interested in getting into! Producing wise I knew if I wanted to achieve the dream I’d have to make music so I had both to my name. I managed to hide away for a good year and perfect my sound which shows in most of my productions.


Have you had any funny experiences whilst in the DJ booth?

Hahaha plenty!! It’s a funny old game there’s too many to mention really. I think a guy ripping his top off right in front of me when the tune dropped and tried to climb over the booth was an experience! An image I can’t un see!


What would you say is your biggest achievement in your career so far?

I can’t say who but I’ve just been signed to the label that was named the biggest house music label of 2017 by Beatport (clues) so yeah real huge step for me that one!


Who are your biggest influences?

Max Chapman on the production side definitely, I really love his work and he’s helped me in the past with learning and sorting me out with everything I needed when I started. Latmun is another, I saw Latmun when he was resident for stealth before he blew up so it’s really great to see that it can be done.


What’s your opinion about the lack of female DJs on festival line-ups?

It’s a tough one because I believe and I’m sure most people do, that it’s not about the gender. It is about the music, but in this day and age promoters are looking for equality on lineups. There’s only a handful of female DJ’s I know that play kind of that underground house sound (And play very well). I guess you have to prove yourself like everyone else does with your DJ’ing and production to be able to get on those wicked festival line ups! The reward doesn’t come over night you have to work for it.


If you could pick 3 songs that would describe you as an artist what would they be and why?

Only 3? Haha!

  • Pawsa - False Start: I use this most times for my introduction to sets, it really sets the pace and power of what you’re about to put in for the next hour or 2.

  • Luca Donzelli - Drummer Eager (Max Chapman remix) - There’s not many tracks like this anymore! That real underground sound, the bass line does it for me really the track as a whole is perfect for me.

  • Mark Knight - Into my life: I love closing with this track, great synth stabs, great vocal it just really brightens up the room whenever/wherever I play it!

What challenges have you faced so far and how have you over come them?

I’ve been quite lucky really and haven’t had to face any challenges as of yet, my biggest one was confidence (believe it or not) at the start I had none and was really scared, it’s really daunting having everyone look up at you! But I think my personality came through and I don’t think about that anymore confidence is key behind the decks.


What advice would you give to aspiring female DJs?

KEEP GOING! I’ve worked real hard for my achievements to date and they came after about 2/3 years of solid work! Stand out. Have your own signature sound or something different about you that makes you stand out as an artist, that sets you a side from the rest.


What have you got planned for the rest of this year?

A new EP coming out real soon! A few remixes’ and a couple tracks! I have an Ibiza residency starting from June where I host my own boat party once a month called ‘Recall’. A couple festivals booked, I’m at Strawberries and Creem festival and also working hard alongside my residency ‘Habitat’ we have some amazing parties lined up for this year, it’s going to be great!


It was so good to hear more about Alisha and we're so excited to see what's next for her!

Be sure to follow Alisha on her social media pages

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/djalishauk/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/_alishauk/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/_AlishaUK

bottom of page